The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

bonsai questions

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2004
« Prev thread: Bonsai Love...| Next thread: Bonsai Search! »
Back to Thread index
by enma daio-sama on May 26, 2004 07:59 AM
I'm brand new at bonsai, I've only been doing it since the beginning of the season, but I've got a bunch of plants and with them a bunch of questions...

1)I'm getting some algae on the soil surface of one of my plants. Besides it being unsightly, is it a problem? How should I get rid of it?

2)I just fertilized my plants for the first time about 2 weeks ago using bone meal. The trees are fine, but I'm having some small problems with mold. I'm getting whitsh stalklike mold on the surface of the fertilizer, but only when it doesn't rain. Once it rains, it goes away. How should I take care of it?

3)I have a schefflera I purchased at the local target and I've had it for like a year now but its not branching at all. I've been pinching and pinching but to no avail.

4)How do you tell when a Juniper is dead? I've got a cascade style I also bought at target, repotted it with proper soil, and it seems to be alive, but I'm not sure. There are no visible signs of new buds, and there are a few brown spots, but the needles are still soft and feel alive. I probably just need to be patient, but help is good too.

Whooo...ok, I think that's it for now, but who knows, I'm a worrier...
by Will Creed on May 31, 2004 02:30 AM
To eliminate the algae, cut back on the water and the fertilizer. Algae will not harm the plant.

Scrape off the fungus growth and also the surrounding soil. You may need to do this repeatedly before you get all of the spores that are producing the mold. The fungus is also harmless to the plant.

(Apparently, the soil in your plants was not properly sterilized and that is why you are geeting fungus and algae.)