The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Newbie trying to plant seeds.

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
by AndreaJoy on March 25, 2006 01:36 AM
I am pretty new to planting seeds. I have done some flower planting. I was wondering if I could get any advise on planting my seeds that I purchased. I got Morning Glorys and sunflowers. I am going to try to get the morning glories to climb up the pillars on my front porch. I bought some peet pots and some miracle grow dirt. I am wondering about the water and what I can use to keep my cats out of them when I am at work. I was going to try to make a makeshift greenhouse to put on my dryer in the mud room. I would love to keep it outside but I am scared that it is too cold still.
by Longy on March 25, 2006 02:05 AM
A rule of thumb for how deep to plant seeds, is to plant 2 x the size of the seed.
With large seeds like peas or pumpkin, plant where they are to grow if possible and only water once. These larger seeds have enough size to absorb enough moisture to last them until they have germinated. This may not be the case in a heated seed tray though. Small seeds like carrot for example need to be watered up to a few times a day to ensure they don't become dry.
To keep your cats out, try a little pepper around the seed tray.
You will need a minimum temp of 15 deg Celsius to get sunflower seeds to germinate. If it gets colder than that at night, you'll need to leave them indoors or wait until the nights have warmed.
What's a mud room?

-
The secret is the soil.
by AndreaJoy on March 25, 2006 02:16 AM