The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

My English Ivy

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
« Prev thread: My dying fern| Next thread: My entry »
Back to Thread index
by MikeG on October 08, 2005 01:39 PM
I am new to all this - know absolutely nothing about plants and I am going to be posting a lot of dumb questions, I think.

I bought a small english ivy plant a week ago from walmart. I plan to put it out in the yard by the fence. I have a few questions:

1 - What is the best time to plant it outside? Will it survive the cold winter if I plant it now?

2 - Can I simply buy any outdoor potting mix to plant it outside and use the miracle grow on it periodically?

3 - I have noticed some of the baby leafs are turning yellowish/brownish. I have kept it moderately moist as recommended with indirect light. What am I doing wrong?
by catlover on October 10, 2005 11:17 AM
You sure it is an outside plant? Don't get me wrong because it may be a variety that is for full sun....my neighbors awhile back had some on planted on a bank. Just an FYI....found this english ivy question in the houseplant section....and "my" english ivy were houseplants.....I had one of mine planted in a pot to close to full sun and it was fried.

English Ivy post in houseplantsThis one says bright indirect light.,,,If this is what you have????? [dunno]

-
 -
 -
by Jiffymouse on October 10, 2005 11:26 AM
i've seen them indoors and out, and have had terrible luck with them both ways!
by tkhooper on October 11, 2005 11:34 PM
Dear MikeG,