The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Need Help with Bird of Paradise ! Please

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2004
by 7 Towers of Serendipity on October 21, 2003 04:03 AM
Hey Everyone this is a neat forum !

I have some questions about my bird of paradise , I have read all that I could on its care ..

I have had no prior experience with growing these plants though.

It was given to me by a gentleman who was going to throw it away due to lack of room . So I adopted it and have had it for over a year ..

When he brought it to my house he told me of a prior problem with mealy bug and that he had sprayed and taken care of it ..
I examined the plant well and did not see any traces of the insect ..
5 months down the road one of the sections pushed out a new leaf that was distorted with ruffles on the edges and sure enough when I looked closely one to two mealys were hanging out on this leaf .. I wiped them off and inspected the plant once again and it appeared clean .

I must add the other sections were doing well with no distorted growth at all , and all new growth up until I have brought it in grew normally
This year I placed it outside for the summer in the same light it receives inside only in summer it has a nice big tree about 9 ft in front of it that dapples the eastern southern light it receives ..
Due to the weather I have brought it back in and once again a new leaf that is coming up is distorted ,Again I found one or two mealys hanging out ! I have taken pics and am posting the link below ( you can see the mealy in the pic) . The other sections of this plant are growing normal .

Also I have taken pictures of some of the older leaves as they have a mottled orangey color spots and I do not know what to make of that either ..