The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Helleborus

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Heliconia problem, need help| Next thread: Helleborus not happy? »
Back to Thread index
by patches1414 on February 15, 2006 08:31 PM
Hi All, [wavey]

I’m patches 1414 and I’m a newbie. I live in Illinois (right across the river from St. Louis), and I am in zone 5. I've been gardening for many years, but most of that consisted of planting a just few vegetables, shrubs, bushes, and lots of annuals. Well, several years ago I got hooked on perennials, so I invested in a mini-tiller and started playing in the dirt. Wow, this was so much fun and I felt like a kid again! Now, I’m addicted!

In 2004, I tilled up a spot for a shade garden and planted Lily-of-the-Valley, Hostas, various ferns, Bleeding Heart, Coral Bells, Astilbes, Helleborus, and daylilies where there is dappled sun. Well, the Helleborus didn't come up the next year, so I planted another one, but that didn't look very good at the end of the year and I don't it will came back this year. Has anyone else had any trouble with them? Any ideas what I am doing wrong? [dunno]

I'm sending some pictures of my shade garden in 2004 and 2005. It is the same area, just taken from a different angle. What a difference a year can make!

Have a GREAT day!

patches1414

-

-

-
 -
"Lord, I love you and I need you, come into my heart, and bless me, my family, my home, and my friends, in Jesus' name. Amen!"
by loz on February 16, 2006 12:11 AM
I don't know the answer to your question, but I just wanted to say that I enjoyed the pictures!!!! [thumb]

It looks good patches! [thumb]

I love bleeeding hearts, and my dad gave me a ton of lily of the valley a few years ago! [grin]
by tkhooper on February 16, 2006 03:09 AM