The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Veggies versus Plants

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
by Blackshep on October 09, 2005 11:08 AM
Pardon my ignorance with my topic. I am Very new at the gardening thing, But I am serious about getting into it in the spring. I want to plant some veggies, ( Letuce, TOmatos ) and some herbs, ( Mint, Sage, basil). Stuff like that. What is the best time and the best ways to set started.

Should I start growing this now, Being OCtober 8, 2005 in pots under special light or wait and is there anyother special preperation that is needed to the ground that I plant to grow with?

I guess I need alot of help. Anything will bw greatly appreciated.

Thank you for all help that is sent. It is deeply appreciated.
by Bill on October 09, 2005 11:31 AM
Its too early to start your spring seedlings, but its never too early to work on the garden plans.
Gardening basics....

Fruits and Veggies

Vegetable
Garden

I am moving this topic to the Fruits and Vegetable Forum...

-
by weezie13 on October 09, 2005 11:38 AM
Blackshep,
Welcome to The Garden Helper's Forum!!!
We are very glad you found us...

Stick around, ask LOT'S of QUESTIONS,
we love to help the new gardener,
we were all new gardeners at some point...

What I would suggest is for each plant you'd like
to grow, ask questions on them... *start new posts for each* and that way we can address each plant to it's specifity....

If you are in Pa., I wouldn't start any of your
plants until end of March/ beginning of April..
I usually try to have my garden in by Memorial Weekend... so your plants should be hardened off during the month of May like, and in the ground by that weekend..
****This is just a ball park schedule, we've had blizzards' here on Mother's Day, so there's no set rule, but it's just a guide line I go by...****

And do you have a spot for a garden already?