The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Herbal Salve Recipes

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2004
« Prev thread: herbal insect repellents| Next thread: Herbal Salve Recipes »
Back to Thread index
by Chrissy on April 17, 2004 06:57 PM
Here are some salve recipes I have been making for a few years & they work great. They were handed down to me by my grandmother. Directions for making salve below the recipes.

Granny's St. John's Wort Salve

1 part St. John's Wort
1 part Comfrey leaf
1 part Calendula flower
1 part Plantain
Beeswax
Vitamin E
Olive Oil

Great all purpose salve. Use for insect bites, itching, wounds, burns and on fungal infections.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Cough & Cold Chest Rub

30 drops Eucalyptus essential oil
40 drops Camphor essential oil
15 drops Wintergreen essential oil
1 ounce Olive Oil
1/2 teaspoon Beeswax

Melt beeswax into the olive oil. Remove from heat and add essential oils. Stir and pour into salve container and label.

Eucalyptus salve is used to relieve respiratory congestion

Granny's Anti-Itch Salve

2 part Chickweed
1 part Comfrey Leaf
2 part Plantain
Beeswax
Olive oil
Vitamin E

Use this salve to soothe itching caused by rashes & insect bites, and to aid healing of minor skin irritations.

How to make salves...

If using fresh collected plants, make sure to clean them. Shake them to remove dirt then lay the herbs out to air dry for several hours.

Measure the desired amount of herbs into an into a crock-pot or a double broiler.

Cover with oil. Oil should be about an inch above herbs.

Heat the herbs and oil over low heat for about 3 hours. For roots cook about 5 hours.