The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Planting flowers from seeds

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
by MikeG on October 11, 2005 07:08 AM
A newbie here with a few quick questions...

1) Should I plant indoors or outdoors?

2) If I plant indoors now, they will probably be ready to be planted outside before spring arrives. Is this not a good time to plant then?

3) Can I plant prennials and annuals in the same tray?

4) I don't want to have to plant them, repot them when they grow a little bigger (but still not ready for outside) and then put them in the flowerbeds outside when they are ready. So is it ok to just plant them in the pots (or trays) deep enough for roots to grow until I can just put them outside and avoid the middle step of repotting them?
by Jiffymouse on October 11, 2005 07:34 AM
quote:
Originally posted by MikeG:
A newbie here with a few quick questions...

1) Should I plant indoors or outdoors?

i'd start any plant you want to see in early spring indoors, otherwise, start them outside, it's simpler
quote:

2) If I plant indoors now, they will probably be ready to be planted outside before spring arrives. Is this not a good time to plant then?

i am waiting until late december or even mid january before i start my seeds. you might want to wait at least that long, 'cause dallas gets colder than it does here in savannah.
quote:

3) Can I plant prennials and annuals in the same tray?

yep. i use trays of "jiffy pots" (check the walmart or other garden centers) and plant what ever i feel like in each one. but be sure to mark them so you know what is what so you put them where you want them...jiffy also makes plant markers or you can do what i do, cut up a styrofoam plate, mark with numbers and then have a chart for the info...
quote: