The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Very hot sun troubles

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Vermiculture| Next thread: very sick aloe »
Back to Thread index
by Olvoyl on May 09, 2006 06:23 AM
Help?? My home and business is on the same piece of property in Jacksonville, Florida, a zone 8. The building for my business is a large, green metal building and is visible with 2 airconditioning units. After the first 2 feet from the building the area recieves strong late morning and afternoon sun until 5 - 7pm depending on the time of year. I wanted to plant hydrangea but the sun is too much. Do you have a suggestion as to what I can plant that would have a similar impact? I posted this in the wrong area earlier, I'm still new to how forums work.
by Wrennie on May 09, 2006 09:52 AM
Rose of Sharon, Poinsiettia, Spirea..

-
 -

-

- Summer Camp '07, July 14th weekend, won't you join us?  -
summer camp thread 1, 2, 3,4
by Olvoyl on May 09, 2006 10:40 AM
Thank you - I'm really looking forward to learning more about gardening - I've finally got some time and a backyard to work with. I just don't have any knowledge.
by neko nomad on May 14, 2006 02:19 PM
 -

There's always oleander. [Wink]

(click on photo for details)
by Sir Ts Princess on May 16, 2006 04:25 PM
I posted a reply to this earlier on another part of the forum, but why not try: Azalea, Gardenia, and I forgot the rest of the one's I mentioned earlier... [Roll Eyes] Guess you're going to have to find the other post [angel] Best of wishes from a fellow Floridian.

-
by patches1414 on May 16, 2006 10:34 PM
Hi Olvoyl! [wavey]

Since you mentioned hydrangea, I'm assuming you are looking more for shrubs or bushes, rather than just flowers. Am I correct? [dunno]