The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Iris'ssss

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
« Prev thread: Iris Seed Propagation| Next thread: Iris storage, help? »
Back to Thread index
by sybil on June 15, 2005 01:38 PM
This is my first time with growing irises(sp)
When the bloom is wilted, what do I do so it comes back next year???
I just plunked them in the ground last fall after a friend gave me a bunch, and was totally amazed they grew and flowered this year. But I am at a loss as what to do now??
Any help?

Old age ain't no place for sissies
by mike57 on June 15, 2005 02:58 PM
HI [wayey] sybil let them be you should not have to any thing to them for abought 3 years. they will multiply and get lots more blooms each year. when they really get growing into big clumps then you can divide them and replant them so you will have more.just make sure you don't plant them to deep just deep enough to cover the rhizome root system very lightly with soil they love full sun.heres a link that i think will help you.
http://www.thegardenhelper.com/iris.html
in the mean time just let them grow do not cut anything off them it uses the old growth as food for next years blooms.heres a couple of photos of some of my iris from this year they are 3 year old plants.which i will divide this year.
 -
 -
hope this helps.your friend in gardening.mike57 [wayey] [flower] [flower]

-
No One Can Make You Feel Inferior Without Your Consent.
by Nako on June 15, 2005 03:59 PM
I have some 17 year old *or older* Iris that have been growing outside my door since before i moved into this house [Smile] I really haven't done ANYTHING to then besides keep the japanese knotweed from blocking them out. So ya, they're pretty care free ^.^ besides that whole watering thing lol

~Phoebe

Nako's Webshots!
 -
 -
by plants 'n pots on June 15, 2005 09:42 PM