The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Holes in my petunia blooms!

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
by Pug Petunia on June 20, 2006 10:46 AM
I am a novice container gardener eager to have a thriving garden on our rooftop deck in the middle of Manhattan. Last year was a disaster: out of 15 geranium plants no plant produced more than 3 petals--most blooms looked healthy and strong only to look dried up and tan/dry within hours! This year everything looked fine for the first month-a simple selection of sun impatiens, marigolds and petunias. Suddenly--almost overnight there are holes in the petunia blooms!! And today holes in the leaves!! I can't see anything chomping away?? Please help, I am desperate!
by weezie13 on June 21, 2006 03:27 PM
Pug Petunia,
I would love to see a picture...

I am thinkin' a slug, but wonder how one
would be on a rooftop garden, but heyyy,
you just never know....

Let us know if you have a picture.

And Welcome to a fellow New Yorker!!!!

Weezie

Don't forget to be kind to strangers. For some who have
done this have entertained angels without realizing it.
- Bible - Hebrews 13:2

-
 -
 -

http://photobucket.com/albums/y250/weezie13/
by matoaka on June 26, 2006 01:05 PM
Pug... I'm having the same problem here in New Mexico. I don't know what's making those holes either. Found them on my petunias a week ago, and today on my geraniums. If you find out, please let me know.

(Weezie.. I don't know if slugs could even live in this dry, dry climate. Haven't seen any little slick trails anywhere. ^shrug^)

Matoaka
High 'n dry in 7(a)
by Squirrel on June 27, 2006 09:35 AM
How about earwigs??? I know one year they made a mess of my petunias. [dunno] [Razz] You probably would see them tho. Sue

-
 -
What goes around comes around, so be nice!lol
by icygold on June 27, 2006 09:41 AM