The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Hummingbirds

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: hummingbirds| Next thread: Hungarian Peppers »
Back to Thread index
by ND farm girl on August 30, 2006 03:44 PM
This is my first time I have had hummingbirds in my yard - I think the gladiolas attracted them, that is where I saw them first last week. Bought a feeder, now they are there every day and every evening - LOTS OF THEM! My boys absolutely love to watch them and they let us get really close to them! They have kind of a greenish color on their back.

Where do they live? I don't have any bird houses in my yard - yet, do they build nests or where do they 'sleep'?

PattyM
by afgreyparrot on August 30, 2006 03:53 PM
They roost in my weeping willow trees at night.
I have LOTS of them! [grin]

-
 -
 -
Buckle up! It makes it harder for the aliens to suck you out of your car!
by Thornius on August 30, 2006 04:49 PM
Those are Ruby-Throated Hummingbirds. The females have white throats; the males have have irridescent red throats. They NEVER live in houses, they roost in trees. My weeping willow and Mulberry trees are popular roosting places for them. They will soon migrate to South America Crossing the width of the Gulf of Mexico, non-stop, in less than 24 hours. They stay about 5 feet above the waves as they fly. They should be all gone by the end of October. They return around the end of February in the extreme southern U.S. It is usually the males that return first. The males are usually the first to migrate south in Fall. They should arrive in North Dakota around the first to middle of May.

-
 -
A bird in the hand......can sometimes be a mess.
by ChristinaC on August 30, 2006 05:11 PM
Do any of them "stick around"? We still see them all the time here and we're quite a bit north of you Thorny.

-
 -
by patches1414 on August 30, 2006 05:50 PM