The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

bunny problem

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
by bunny_wrangler on April 25, 2006 03:18 PM
So, although I have bunnies in my home I don't know what to do with them in my yard. I am a very beginner gardener, I spent the past 2 weeks in the yard planting things, getting mulch down and attempting to beat back the weeds that seem to always win. However I have a pair of bunnies that have stolen a few of my new plants. I know that once the plants get bigger they can handle a little gnawing, but until then I am feeding the buns some expensive flowers! Is there anything I can put on my beds that will put the bunnies off? any one I ask around town says to kill them, which is definitley out of the question. Any suggestions?
by Wrennie on April 26, 2006 02:05 AM
Mammals dont like HOT pepper. There are hot pepper powders and liquid to add to bird seed to keep squirrels at bay. It also works for deer and bear.
get some of that or the hottest pepper you can find at your supermarket, and sprinkle a border around it.
Theres also a product called shake away thats a predator urine powder. They smell it and think Mr fox is nearby and go away.
Alot of the deer repellant aprays are also for squirrels and rabbits. Suh as Deer Off, and Bobbex. Usually available at garden centers or hardware stores.

-
 -

-

- Summer Camp '07, July 14th weekend, won't you join us?  -
summer camp thread 1, 2, 3,4
by The Plant Doc on April 26, 2006 03:30 PM
A couple of other taste repellents that work well are Chew Knot. Ropel, and Tree Gard.
I really don't think that predator urine products work myself. I am a hunter and they sell the same things to keep deer away, that hunters use as a cover scent so they don't smell the human scent. They are just a Madison Avenue gimmick.