The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Composting Moron

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: composting in winter??| Next thread: Composting Question »
Back to Thread index
by PlantFaerie on January 24, 2006 11:17 AM
Ok I'm not good with the whole compoting thing, we had one as a kid where we just threw everything on it but never really used it, I'd like to use it and I've read that a lasagna compost is the easiest/least fuss But I am a moron [Confused] and don't know the difference between brown and green. I'm assuming green is like grass clippings but what's brown? [dunno] [nutz]

-

Colonel Jack O'Neill "I ask you, what could possibly be in my eye that could explain all this? "

-

by beebiz on January 25, 2006 07:54 AM
Hey PlantFaerie,

The rule of thumbs that I have always used is that if it has dried out, it's "browns." If it hasn't dried out, it's "greens." But for a more expert description, here's what Compost Guide says about the "greens" and the "browns" used in compost:
quote:
Among the brown materials are dried leaves, straw, and wood chips. Nitrogen materials are fresh or green, such as grass clippings and kitchen scraps.
Check out their site. They have lots of information about composting.

Good luck,
Robert

My New Web Site If you take a look, please sign my guest book so I'll know you've been there! Also, check out the new African Violet addition to my site! Thanks
by PlantFaerie on January 25, 2006 09:01 AM
Thanks Robert. [Smile] I alsways feel like such a dunce when it comes to some of the stuff I never did when we had our own huge garden when I was a kid. I swear all we did was plant 4 rows of corn and 2 of everything else and keep it watered and weeded (and pick of those dammed tomato worms!)

-

Colonel Jack O'Neill "I ask you, what could possibly be in my eye that could explain all this? "

-