The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

White Ring Around My Terracotta Pot? Help!

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: White Pumpkins| Next thread: White Spots on my Rubber Plant »
Back to Thread index
by calicojackk on October 24, 2006 05:24 AM
Hello,

I'm new at herb gardening this year. Since it's getting cold here, I brought my rosemary and sage indoors. They're both in terracotta pots.

This morning, I noticed a white ring had developed at the top of the pot containing the sage. I was wondering if it's sick or if I should change the soil.

Thank you for your help in advance!
by Deborah L. on October 24, 2006 06:09 AM
If you mean that the white ring is on the pot, it is mineral deposits. You can scrub it off with white vinegar and a wire brush.
You must have hard water as we do here.
Although, sometimes here we get a white crumbly film on the top of the soil of potted plants, which is mineral deposit too.

-
 -
by joclyn on October 24, 2006 06:46 AM
yup, sounds like mineral deposits...rain water (which is probably what fed the plants during the summer) doesn't have any additives to it like the tap water.

you could try to let your water sit (preferably overnight) and see if that helps. over time, you'll still see that ring, tho. easy enough to scrub it away tho...a toothbrush and some baking soda and/or vinegar should do it. if you let the ring sit too long, it'll harden up and it will be hard to get off...
by Deborah L. on October 24, 2006 07:46 AM
Joclyn, letting water sit 24 hours removes the chlorine but not the minerals.
I know that muriatic acid will also remove hard water deposits, but I don't know if it will harm plants.
Maybe someone will come along and tell us.

-
 -
by Deborah L. on October 24, 2006 07:47 AM
I have tried Lime Away on pots, but all it did was foam up and didn't even budge the white stuff.

-
 -