The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Indoor mini herb garden

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
by Amber Petersen on April 25, 2006 02:29 AM
HI! I'm new to the herbs section here. I'd really like to start a small indoor herb garden, I was wondering if anyone would have any tips or links. Thanks AM

-
Amber
by tkhooper on April 25, 2006 09:30 AM
Rosemary does better outside so I wouldn't choose it as one of your herbs.

Chives are great indoors and all you need to do is cut off the amount you want to use and then let it grow back. I usually plant a big bowl of chives because I like them in so many things.

I never have any luck with sage and oregano I don't know why yet. But maybe starting with plants for those would be better.

Cinnamon Basil is very easy but doesn't transplant at all well so start it in an 8 inch pot at least. It is an annual so pinch the flower blooms off before they get started. Because once it flowers it will die. And it changes the flavor of the leaves to a more bitter flavor.

-
 -
by Amber Petersen on April 26, 2006 05:27 AM
That's great...just the sort of stuff I need to know. I haven't gotten it all started yet, but I can't WAIT!

-
Amber
by rubberbandman on May 06, 2006 09:23 AM
I planted mint and chives and a week after I planted them they sprouted and are doing good so those are some of the herbs you should think about planting.

-
people tell me I have the body of a god... too bad its buddah.
by LoveLilac on May 13, 2006 08:16 PM
How long does it take to start an Herb garden and then use the herbs for medicine?
And could one herb plant medicate a person for a long period of time without using it all up?

No one escapes the wilderness on the way to their promised land.
by comfrey on May 14, 2006 05:08 PM
quote:
Originally posted by LoveLilac: