The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Hello im in need of some help.

Willy's Place » Members Favorite Recipes
« Prev thread: Hello from Malaysia| Next thread: hello there from elnora alta »
Back to Thread index
by The Garden Gnome on September 10, 2005 02:59 AM
Hi all my name is Bill.
I am new to the forums.
I need a pickle recipe, that last for a long time because I am a locomotive Engineer. I don't have to to check on pickles to often.

So does anyone have a recipe for sour dill pickles that last a long time?

Thankyou for your help.

=)
by hisgal2 on September 10, 2005 09:15 PM
I don't know very much, but I found this recipe. It says that they will last for at least 6 weeks. Hope this helps. ...no cooking either!

Fresh-Packed Refrigerator Dill Pickles

10-14 whole pickling cucumbers, approximately 2 inches, scrubbed
3 sprigs dill
2 cloves garlic
½ cup fresh lemon juice
Cold water

1. Pack sterilized jar with the cucumbers, dill and garlic, alternating layers, leaving ¼ inch headspace.

2. Pour lemon juice over cucumbers and fill jar with cold water.

3. Seal and refrigerate. These will keep at least 6 weeks.

-
 -

-
by The Garden Gnome on September 12, 2005 09:26 PM
Thankyou, I would have posted a day or so ago but I just got off my shift.(I was in Redding California)

I was hoping for a recipe that took maybe a few months to pickle and could last in to the years if un opened. Is there a way to do that?

=)
by hisgal2 on September 13, 2005 11:35 PM
I will do some more looking for you. I don't do pickling, so I feel like the blind leading the blind here!!! [Big Grin]

-
 -

-
by Lucy Lou on September 27, 2005 05:36 PM