The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Seed Sources? Your own flowers??

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
by RLR on January 02, 2005 09:05 PM
I have tried growing zinnia's, petunias, and Gerbera Daisy's from my own flower seeds in my garden. But with no success. I am a novice gardener, and I don't know what this requires. My goal is to complete a full cycle with the flower, using the dried head to get seeds, and grow more... Any advice? [thinker]

by afgreyparrot on January 03, 2005 12:50 AM
I've never had any problem with zinnias...they just re-seed by themselves every year. I let them turn brown and dry out on the plant before I cut them off to get the seeds out.

Don't know about the petunias and daisies. [dunno]

Cindy

P.S.
Welcome to the forum!

-
 -
 -
Buckle up! It makes it harder for the aliens to suck you out of your car!
by Cricket on January 03, 2005 01:16 AM
Welcome to the forum!

Petunias like lots of sun and water! Deadhead the spent flowers for more blooms and mid-season, when the plant begins to look leggy, prune them for bushier new growth. Don't worry if you think you've pruned too much...they're fast growing and very resilient.

In early autumn, seed pods begin to form - they look sort of like hard, brown buds, which start off closed tightly, but as they mature, begin to open slightly at the top. When the pods are just beginning to open but before they disperse all the seeds, pinch the pods off and shake the contents out onto a piece of white paper. Petunia seeds are black and very tiny, similar to poppy seeds. When the seeds are dry, store them in an airtight container or seed envelope (don't forget to LABEL them!)