The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

small strawberry trouble

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: small spots on pothos| Next thread: small stringy beets »
Back to Thread index
by badplanter on July 03, 2006 04:48 PM
Hi. I've been growing strawberries for a few years now, and they have done great. Until now. when a strawberry would ripen and be ready to eat, it would taste very bitter. i know this is not a good thing. They also seem to be over-ripe. That might be my problem. they have been watered right, and i think they have been in the right amount of sun. If anyone knows why this is happeneing, please let me know! [Smile]

-
 -
 -  - "I don't want no more of army life, gee mom, I wanna go, but they won't let me go, gee mom, I wanna go home!" My PB!
by Deborah L. on July 04, 2006 09:00 AM
Maybe the plants are just old?
My strawberries are going crazy right now.
I pick and eat almost every day.

-
 -
by Patty S on July 04, 2006 09:30 AM
I've raised strawberries for more years than I care count, & from what you describe, Badplanter, I think Deborah's guess is right on the money. Most strawberries are at their peak production during the first 3 years... maybe 4, depending on the variety. After that, they might still bear fruit, but the quality drops noticeably. (Are your berries also smaller than they used to be?)

Old plants will still send runners out & you should let them do that, using the babies from those runners to start building new strawberry beds (pots/towers) with. (They'll flower & make nice berries next year.) You might want to thin out your strawberry bed this fall, after the new runners have had a chance to dig in & set down their own roots.