The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

mildews or mealy bugs ?

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
« Prev thread: Mildew roses, and other problems.| Next thread: milkweed »
Back to Thread index
by nritya on September 17, 2005 09:34 PM
As some of you would know I am new to gardening and I have put up a garden just a month back.All the plants are very small and as such I am watering them regularly. But for the past few days I see a lot of white woollen patches in the leaves of almost all my plants. They are not moving and they are in different sizes. I tried removing the infected leaves of asperagus and mussaenda, but now they seem to be appearing on other plants too. I am unable to identify them. From the description given in the books it looks like mealy bugs or mildews. Can anybody help me ? Thanks in advance. [Confused]
by weezie13 on September 18, 2005 01:36 AM
Nritya,
Did you have a camera for some photo's by
any chance?????

*Hey, Welcome to The Garden Helper's Forum
by the way, we're very glad you found us!!!*
*Sent you congrats on the mystery plant vine find*

Also, can you tell us a little more about the conditions, that can help in diagnosing pests and problems too...

Like your watering, what time of day?
And how do you water, by a hose, drip hose,
watering can???

And if you've used any fertilizers on your plants,
and if so, what kind..*the number's on the front*

And what kind of soil are these plants planted in?
Like regular garden soil, if so, what type, loamy, clay, sandy, etc.??
Or a bagged soil, what's the name on those?

And is your garden planted in the ground in a
regular garden..?
Or all in containers/pots???

Weezie

Don't forget to be kind to strangers. For some who have
done this have entertained angels without realizing it.
- Bible - Hebrews 13:2

-
 -
 -

http://photobucket.com/albums/y250/weezie13/