The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

whats the deal with eggplant?

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
by eClaire on April 19, 2006 10:59 PM
So I impulsively bought an eggplant yesterday at walmart, it was a really nice healthy looking plant, got it home and realized I have no clue how to grow it.
I looked on the web, but you guys give better advise. Anyone have experience with these? Thanks!

Claire
by Sorellina on April 19, 2006 11:08 PM
Ciao Claire,

LOL! How cute are you! Ah, the excitement of buying a plant impulsively and then figuring out how to take care of it. I've never done that before....

Eggplants are a bit like tomatoes - they're actually in the same family. They like WARM weather, so keep them inside until your nights are in the '60's or they'll just sit in your garden and pout. They won't die unless it gets really chilly, but they won't grow either if it's too cold. Water them from below (put a tray under them) when the soil dries out (stick your finger in it down an inch and water if it's dry). When it's warm enough to plant out, plant them 1' apart and bury the stem up to the seed leaves (cotyledons). They won't form roots up the stem like tomatoes will, but the extra soil around the stem gives them more support. Give them 3' stakes or wimpy tomato cages in case of winds and that's all you do.

Buona fortuna,
Julianna

-
by eClaire on April 20, 2006 08:14 AM
Thanks Julianna! I have done most of my gardening this way, buy and then figure it out [Smile] Luckily most of my stuff has survived. Thanks for the great advise, and its already warm at night here so I think I'll put it right in the ground and see what happens.
Take care!

Claire
by obywan59 on April 20, 2006 12:05 PM