The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Shallow rooting plants

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
« Prev thread: shade-loving veggies...| Next thread: Shallow Roots or Not? »
Back to Thread index
by Karrie on June 03, 2005 01:46 AM
Hello I am new at gardening. I have always loved plants but stood alone in my my family of concrete lovers. I have a beautiful yard now and have spent 2 summers working on my love of flowers. I have an area on the side of my house that receives the least sun light it is full of rocks as it is beside my driveway. I have dug out alot of rock and put in a flower bed with landscapeing timbers I will have about 5 to 6 inches of soil then about an inch of rock. I am in need of suggestions for plants preferably prennials that will grow well in the shallow soil with little sunlight. I know hostas are a possibility, but want some additional items with blooms, as I adore the color. Any suggestions? [flower]

-
 -

It doesn't matter where you go in life... It's who you have beside you when you get there.

Karrie's Photos
by tkhooper on June 03, 2005 02:26 AM
Pleione bulbocodioides Rockery Orchid its a psuedobulb that multiplies. If your spot drains really well then this might be an option.

Wintergreen (Gauitheria procumbens) This get red berries in the winter rather than flowers

These were the only two i found that seemed to meet your requirements. Sorry it wasn't more.

Maybe you could have some annuals in the bed too. Something that self seeds?
by Jiffymouse on June 06, 2005 03:59 AM
you know that hostas will bloom, right?
by hisgal2 on June 06, 2005 05:41 AM