The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Landscape advice needed!

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
« Prev thread: Lambs ears| Next thread: Landscape design plans »
Back to Thread index
by MaryReboakly on May 21, 2005 07:33 PM
Well, I'm a newbie. Started my garden this year, and thought what better to do than start with a clean slate. So, I pulled weeds, turned grass, laid landscape fabric, cut my holes and planted my perenials, and put down some hardwood mulch.

Now that I'm reading these boards, I see landscape fabric can be nothing but a hassle, mulch can get fungus that will explode and spot my house, and now I'm wondering how my perennials will multiply in their little hole. Did I mess it all up? [Frown]

I just want a purty garden!

Do I continue with the yards and yards of fabric I have left? I've got a lot of garden to plant yet, and am ready to lay more down, if I even should. May be I should do the newspaper thing? What about mulch? I love the look of the hardwood mulch (it's almost black) against the white house and colorful flowers - but I don't want it exploding on my house! [Eek!]

What to do, what to do...
Any and all advice/comments appreciated!

Mary

-
 -
by tkhooper on May 21, 2005 07:53 PM
Speaking as the person who always got stuck painting the outside of the house I'll tell you what I did last time.

Around the house for about 18 inches i laid down gravel. Why? Because I got tired of being jabbed in the kester by irrate roses and rhoddies while I was tryig to paint. lol

Also that way when the gutters got full of leaves and things and the water decided to pour down on the ground it didn't drowned some poor unsuspecting plant. Also it made keeping the weeds out of that area very easy.