The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

onions

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: ???Onions???| Next thread: onions and peaches »
Back to Thread index
by ChristinaC on April 06, 2006 10:19 PM
I started red onions in the house with plans to get them outside soon...then we got a bunch of snow so I'll wait a week or two.

Anyway, I was told to trim the shoots as they're growing. Does anyone do this? If so, why? And if I do so, how much do I trim them back?

-
 -
by markr on April 07, 2006 07:14 AM
christinac
ive never heard of this before.
the closest thing i can think of is trimming leeks when planting, this is normaly done in conjunction with trimming the roots before planting out with a dibber.
its a new one to me!

-
Mark
by limey on April 07, 2006 10:03 AM
Hi Christinac,
I've been growing onions from seeds for a couple of years now.I start mine about the middle of February under lights in the basementThey are Ailsa Craig Exhibition #205 from Stokes Seeds in Ont.
It says on the back of the package:-
Clip seedlings when they are 5 in/13cm.tall-to 3ins/8cm.to thicken plants.
I"ve used the same on Kelsae Giants,Yellow Globe Danvers and Stockade
Dave
by ChristinaC on April 07, 2006 10:19 AM
Thanks Dave!!!

I too have them growing under lights. They are definitely almost 5in tall.
I get my seeds from T and T seeds out of Winnipeg..so far I've had great results with all my seeds from there but this is my first with onions.

Thanks again!!

-
 -
by obywan59 on April 07, 2006 12:56 PM
Dave's right, when you clip the tops, it forces the plants to grow new "leaves" making the plant thicker.

I haven't tried it on mine yet, but they say that cutting the tops of shallots to use as green "onions" actually makes the shallots grow larger.

-
Terry

May the force be with you
by tkhooper on April 08, 2006 12:12 AM