The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Dusty Miller

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
« Prev thread: Dust Mites and Aphids| Next thread: Dusty's Pasta Salad »
Back to Thread index
by tkhooper on April 22, 2005 03:45 PM
I have been tring to read up on this plant. I bought one thinking I was getting a lambs ear. Goes to show what I don't know about plants. lol. Anyway from what I've gathered so far it is zone 8 through 10 as a perennial. Which means I'm going to have to dig it up this fall since I am zone 7a? It also seems to say that it likes rich soil and a lot of fertilizer and soil that is more towards the sandy side? Exactly opposite of what it is planted in and it seems to like it. Is this like a last blaze of glory before it dies on me?

-
 -
by loz on April 22, 2005 06:41 PM
Tammy, I'm no expert but I don't think you should have a problem.....I'm in zone 6 and I have heavy, clayish soil full of rocks and they grow just fine for me......and I have about 20 dusty millers right now that I left outside this winter.....they come back fine here for me, there's new growth around the bottom of them and everything--and they are starting to perk right back up. They are a very common plant well known for their silvery foliage and I often use them between my flowers to give some foliage interest. [flower]
by tkhooper on April 22, 2005 06:45 PM
Thank you for the information loz. My research wasn't going well. And when that happens I start to worry, and worry, and....

-
 -
by loz on April 23, 2005 02:42 AM
Not a problam Tammy--I am a chronic worrier myself so I can relate.......

Oh, and they can flower, but they are really not anything spectacular--just little yellow flowers--they are really grown for the foliage.....One plant I like for cool foliage too is the Amaranthus--Josephs Coat. It has red, green, and yellowish leaves........tri-colored. [thumb]