The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

MY BABIES!!

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
by ninniwinky on July 24, 2005 10:22 PM
Here are my Tomato's so far they are
as big as my fist! Hopefull they
will hang on until Picking!!!
I hope this works:

-

Now let me show you a picture
of the problem I have with these plants,
they are about 5ft tall but they are
sooooooo spindly!
THey are as thin as a pinky!!

-

You can see the shorter one that
is really nice and bushy is in such a SMALL planter, and it is the one with
the HUGE maters on it, and the
stalk is THICK! So I don't think
it is the size of my other
Bigger planters, I really think
I started out with Poor soil,
and Chlorinated City Water!
The bushy plant was given to
me a few months ago from my mother,
Using well water....

I am soooooooooooo excited for the
tomato's I do have!!
This is MY FIRST time
planting anything!!!!
Sorry the pics are sooooo big!!!

Ninni
by maryann matthews on July 25, 2005 01:03 AM
[thumb]
Ninni:
These are beautiful tomatoes!
I think the reason the stalks are spindly might be because they are in pots instead of in the ground?

It is just a guess though, I am not a tomatoe expert!

Happy Gardening [flower]

-
To get your ideas across use small words, big ideas, and short
sentences.

-- John Henry Patterson
by ninniwinky on July 25, 2005 03:44 AM
well I would think that also, but the shorter little bushier one has a stalk the size of my wrist!! and its in a smaller pot!! Weird, huh???

Ninni
by LMT on July 25, 2005 04:00 AM
For years and too many years of growing plants in the house, I like to work a plant up in pot size. It seems to retain a more compact nature that way. I'm sure there's a reason.

Currently listening to: Vince Guaraldi Trio -- A Charlie Brown Christmas. Adult and contemporary but evocative of youth and innocence, a must own CD.