The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

dead heading wave petunias

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Dead heading Dianthus| Next thread: Dead Hibiscus? »
Back to Thread index
by flowercorgi on July 19, 2006 08:40 AM
Hello everyone,
I am brand new here and I am a novice in the flower landdscaping department. But I want to learn and right now I am very dangerous to my plants (o:
I have 3 pots of wave petunias that are actually doing very well - when I pluck them do I just pluck the wilty ones or the ones that look like they are closed?
Thank you for any help.
by Karrie on July 19, 2006 09:20 AM
That is what I do and my petunias always do well. I had some I had to leave for a few days with out care or water, they looked wilted and dead, I cut them completely back to the soil level, they have come back full and beautiful. Wave petunias are great for beginners. They are effortless but so beautiful they make you feel great at what your doing.

OHH my Gosh I just saw your from Rockville, Putnam county girl here! I love Rockville, we didnt live too far from there. So peaceful and quite. Cept come festival time.

Welcome to our forum, glad you found us!

-
 -

It doesn't matter where you go in life... It's who you have beside you when you get there.

Karrie's Photos
by chenno on July 19, 2006 09:22 AM
I pluck the wilted ones, and if others look bad pluck-em...Just makes more blooms..I like wave petunias too..good luck, look forward to seeing you around:-)

-
 -
Painting is silent poetry, and poetry is painting that speaks.
Plutarch
by flowercorgi on July 20, 2006 12:53 AM
Thanks for all the input.....Just to keep me straight....I do pluck the wilted ones every night, but some of them look like they are either brand new just not opened or they have already opened and and closed up and are done?
I hope this makes sense.