The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

cone flowers

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2006
« Prev thread: Cone flowers| Next thread: Coneflower seeds ~ Save !!! »
Back to Thread index
by conehead on June 21, 2006 04:20 PM
Hi, I'm looking for as much information on cone flowers as possible.I'm just getting started in gardening,and I've always liked cone flowers.How many different colors are available and what do I plant with them.
by johnCT on June 22, 2006 01:08 AM
That's a very broad question. I would recommend doing a google search on echinacea. In general, in recent years there have been many new cultivars created. They are a native wildflower, very hardy and very drought tolerant.

John - Zone 6
by patches1414 on June 23, 2006 10:37 PM
Hi Conehead! [wavey]

Welcome to the forum! [muggs] Boy, I'm really with you on this one because I love Echinacea [Love] (coneflowers) too! Of course, I've always been attracted to Daisy-like flowers. Here's a list of the Echinacea I have in my garden beds and their colors.

'Magnus' - purple
'Ruby Giant' - deep pink
'Fatal Attraction' - magenta
'Vintage Wine' - very deep pink
'Fragrant Angel' - white
'Sunrise' - yellow
'Orange Meadowbrite' - orange with slim petals
'Little Giant' - pink
'Razzmatazz' - pink with double-decker blooms
'Hope' - pale pink

I'm really not sure yet, but I may have lost my Echinacea 'Hope'; however, it will be replaced because a portion of the purchase price goes to help fight breast cancer and it is dedicated to the memories of those who have perished to breast cancer and the survivors.

This is my Wish list:

'Sunset' - orange
'Rubin's Glow' - bright medium pink
'Harvest Moon' - yellow-Gold
'Ruby Star' - bright ruby-red
'Pixie Meadowbrite' - pink (dwarf)
'Kim's Knee High' - rose-pink (dwarf)
'Fancy Frills' - bright pink (petal ends are jagged instead of rounded)