The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

New Garden in Old Play Area

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2004
« Prev thread: New Garden Bed| Next thread: New garden pics! »
Back to Thread index
by Janet R. on April 29, 2004 10:59 PM
Hi!

The people who previously owned our house had a play area in the yard, and we've excavated it somewhat, this is what we have: a 25' x 25' area edged in wood (the wood sticks up about two inches above the ground); the area is filled with crushed stone, and underneath that is a liner, almost like a pond liner, with sand underneath. I'm new at this, so here we go---

Broad question:
1) If you had this situation and wanted to put in a vegetable garden, what would you do (step by step)?

Specific questions:
1) The wood is like railroad ties, not visibly coated with creosote; but I've heard that these wooden edgings could be pressure-treated and possible have arsenic in them. We don't want anything leaching into our vegetables...should we test them? get rid of them??? I'm not especially interested in making raised beds.

2) Can we leave the sand (I have some vague idea that it might be good for drainage) and put soil on top of it? How deep? What kind of soil? (I told you I was new at this!!!)

Thanks!

~ Janet
by Barb H. on April 30, 2004 12:43 AM
Janet,

Hi and welcome to the forum! I am sure someone will be along shortly with very good answers to your questions.

I would be concerned about the arsenic factor...i'd get rid of them. As for the sand...i think you're right...it's good to mix in some sand...just depends how much is there....is it very sandy?

What are your plans for the garden? Is it going to be a strictly vegtable, or a mix?

Again, welcome to forum! There are so many nice people here..you will have a lot of fun hanging out here.

-
by Janet R. on April 30, 2004 05:56 PM