The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Peace Lily Question -- Help before it's too late!!

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
« Prev thread: peace lily question| Next thread: peace lily's »
Back to Thread index
by lizzi_20 on August 17, 2005 04:13 AM
About 6 months ago, I received a peace lily as a gift. The plant it absolutely beautiful, and has significantly grown. However, I have a few questions to ensure that I don't kill the plant (I'm a novice "gardner"). After reading several articles, I understand that peace lilies don't have to be watered often (ie: 2-3 weeks); however, once a week (Fridays) my plant goes completely droopy (it's a very dramatic plant), so I water it. I obviously am keeping it too moist because I've noticed white mold starting to grow on top of the soil. How often am I supposed to water it? Also, how do I get rid of the mold?
Thank you for your help!!!

Thank you!!!
Liz
by Cricket on August 17, 2005 11:43 PM
Hi Liz, [wayey]

Welcome to the forum! Althought peace lilies survive for quite a while in low light, they thrive in bright indirect light. Right in front of an unobstructed north or east facing window is best.

quote:
(it's a very dramatic plant),