The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

Out of Control Rubber Plan

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
« Prev thread: Out in the woods| Next thread: out yonder..... »
Back to Thread index
by dhaliscak on August 14, 2005 07:39 PM
I have a rubber plant that is growing beyond belief. I guess it has the perfect environment. I am a very novice gardener. I can pot a plant, water it and watch it grow. But I have no idea what to do now that it has gotten so tall it is bending over. I tried to post a picture, but couldn't figure out how. Anyway, the plant has 7 stalks planted together in the pot. I bought it that way. The stalks range in size with the largest stalk being about 3/4" - an 1" in diameter. Over all the plant has reached a total height of 36" from top of soil to top of plant. I have wooden stakes in the pot trying to hold it up, but the weight of the plant keeps pulling the stakes over too. I have never pruned this plant. Would pruning it make it stop growing taller and start growing wider? Every time I turn around, it has new leaves coming out. It rarely looses any leaves either. It just keeps sprouting taller and taller. What should I do?

DHaliscak
by Will Creed on August 14, 2005 11:18 PM
Hi D.,

For a novice you are having considerable success. Perhaps you should be posting answers rather than questions! [teacher]

Rubber trees are more inclined to grow up than out. New growth is always at ENDS of stems. Pruning will keep the stems shorter and more manageable, but it will not necessarily promote side growth. Increasing the light will promote thicker stems that are less inclined to bend under the weight of the leaves.

You can e-mail a photo to me at wcreed@HorticulturalHelp.com.
by Kath-pdx on August 18, 2005 11:48 AM