The Garden Helper

Helping Gardeners Grow Their Dreams since 1997.

No-dash-here, you've found The Real Garden Helper! Gardening on the Web since 1997

peace lily leaves diseased?

Gardening Reference » Gardening in 2005
« Prev thread: Peace Lily Help| Next thread: Peace Lily maintenance »
Back to Thread index
by so. cal dweller on December 21, 2004 10:20 PM
Hello everyone! I am new to the forum but have learned lots of information from my browsing here previously. I have a question however regarding one of my peace lilies. Some of the leaves seem to have what looks like a clear glue running up the middle of the leaf. It is thicker that the rest of the leaf and about 1/8" to 1/4" covering each side of the center almost the entire length of the leaf. I am fairly new to growing plants as I have killed everything in the past. However, I am starting anew after taking a multi-year sabbatical from plants. My luck seems to have turned and my plants are all doing well except this one. Not all the leaves have this stuff on it but the ones that do are actually starting to fold in half length-wise as the stuff thickens. Does anyone have any idea what is wrong with my plant? Thanks in advance.
by so. cal dweller on December 22, 2004 04:29 AM
Okay, I checked my other peace lilies a little more closely and saw the very beginnings of this same thickening on the leaves. I am wondering if this is some type of virus. I went into the nursery today to talk to the woman in the houseplants section and she has never seen anything like this. Nor has one of her co-workers. Now I am getting nervous. Is this going to destroy my peace lilies? They are getting so big and are so pretty I would hate to lose them. Could I have spread something amongst them when I was using my water meter? HELP!!! What do I do?
by JoeLee O'L:ee on December 31, 2004 06:51 AM